Masking an image to a non-rectangular shape

I’m pretty far along with a node for an upcoming convention where the main content areas are the left topic player which is 1/3 the screen, and the right topic player which is the right 2/3 of the screen:

On the left topic player, it cycles through different visualizations of events and can show full images, and when it does, I get the nice “slash” masking because the right topic player with the blue background is drawn over top.

However, to get a “full-topic-player” image on the right panel, since it’s drawn on top, it would show up as a rectangle. I’m trying to avoid having the announcements-making team that will make the images have to make perfectly shaped PNGs for the right player. Is there a way I could mask the uploaded asset images into this shape? It doesn’t look like the image drawing functions have a way to mask. I’ve been looking at maybe using a shader to multiply a mask image with the resource, but I’m very new to shaders and am not sure if info-beamer always applies shaders to the entire visible screen, or it can apply to a specific resource.

Another option might be to use PIL from a Python service, but I’m nervous the order of operations between an asset being added, then PIL masking it might mean a frame or two of the unmasked image spilling out of its topic player?

What’s the best way to go about this?

That should be possible. Create a mask PNG file with one of the R, G, B or A channels being used as mask. I guess alpha would be the obvious choice and used in the code below. Load that image as usual. Then create a shader like this:

local shader = resource.create_shader[[
      uniform sampler2D mask;
      uniform sampler2D Texture;
      varying vec2 TexCoord;

void main() {
           vec4 img = texture2D(Texture, TexCoord).rgba;
           img.a = texture2D(mask, TexCoord).a;
           gl_FragColor = img;
      }
]]